Started by a School Science Teacher
tree frog

Praying Mantis Life Cycle Model

Model of a praying mantis' 4 life cycle stages
Manufacturer: Insect Lore


each set conatins soft plastic representations of the following stages: Soft egg case, Hardened Egg Case, Nymph, Adult.

Did you know???? Praying Mantises are named after their manner of resting with their forelegs held together in a posture resembling praying or deep thought.

What is the difference between complete and incomplete metamorphosis in insects?

Incomplete and complete metamorphosis differ in the number of life cycle stages insects go through during their transformation from egg to adult. Complete metamorphosis has 4 life cycle stages and incomplete metamorphosis has 3 life cycle stages.

Complete Metamorphosis

Complete metamorphosis has four distinct life cycle stages: egg, larva, pupa and adult. Examples of insects that go through complete metamorphosis are butterflies, silkworms, mealworms andladybugs. The larva can be worm-like, although you can still see the six legs. The larvae for moths and butterflies are called caterpillars. Maggots are the larval stage of flies. The larvae eat constantly and grow rapidly. A hard, protective case forms around the larva…this is the pupa stage. The pupa stage for a butterfly is called a chrysallis. The pupa stage for a moth is called a cocoon.

Incomplete Metamorphosis

Incomplete metamorphosis only has three life cycle stages: egg, nymph, adult. The nymph looks similar to, but a smaller version of, the adult. The nymph is also wingless. Examples of insects that go through incomplete metamorphosis are stinkbugs, earwigs, crickets, grasshoppers, cockroaches, ants and praying mantids.

Product tags
model (10)